Updates…

I have been neglecting this blog lately…my apologies.  I just realized that I never gave a post-race update (from my first 5K)! Note: It was April 9th.

Geesh…where is my head!!

I was a bag of nerves on race day!  No one was able to come see me race, so I knew…no one…which made the nerves worse.  Oh, and the race was simply advertised as a 5K.  No where…NO WHERE did it say 5K TRAIL RACE! LOL  Yep, 3.1 miles of grueling up & down steep hills…mud, dirt, rocks…you name it…it was there!  So, I was completely exhausted halfway into it. So, I began to walk/run…my strategy at that point was simply survival! So, I walked uphill, and ran downhill.

That worked out okay, because I did not finish last (and that was my only goal for that race).  I did learn a few things though…Lesson 1-explore the area where the race is going to be held if you are unfamiliar with it.  Lesson 2-I must be in much better shape before my first INTENTIONAL trail race! lol

So, my first 5K was a trail run…unplanned…but i did it.

______________________________________________________

I set a PR yesterday morning! I ran 5.56 miles! The time was horrible, but the distance was what mattered! Before yesterday, a 5K was my longest distance. I’m making progress!! 🙂

______________________________________________________

On the weight loss front: I’ve now lost a total of 51lbs! 😀

______________________________________________________

Thanks to a friend on Dailymile.com I found out about The Jelly Bean Virtual 5K going on this week! I found out just in time too! I just have to complete it & post my time before the 26th. Cool beans! LOL 😉  Now, to decide if I’m going to do this in the morning, or Saturday morning. Decisions…decisions…perhaps I’ll do it twice, and post my best time? LOL Nah, I wouldn’t do that…I dont even think I could run a 5K two days in a row! LOL

I’m on Dailymile.com now too! Check me out! Add me as a friend on there if you are on it.

______________________________________________________

I plan on going on a long hike sometime this weekend. I had planned on going in the morning, but then came a torrential downpour, and now I’m thinking that those dirt trails are going to be mud pits…and uh…I dunno about that. Perhaps not tomorrow. lol

Although, last Saturday I hiked over five miles and thoroughly enjoyed myself!

About therunningcavewoman

An about to be *former* fatty. I follow a Paleo nutrition way of eating, and have recently adopted an active lifestyle. At Christmas 2010, my mom took a picture of me, and I glanced at it. Just that glance triggered something in my brain (finally) that I had to get healthy, and quick! I had been to the doctor several times about irregular menstrual cycles, and I was having issues with my blood pressure before Christmas, so I had an idea that I had gotten very unhealthy. December 26th I began researching ways of eating online, and decided that Paleo was the way for me to go. It was either December 28th or 29th that I quit processed foods, and most carbs cold turkey. Then, over the next few weeks I weined myself off of grains, and milk entirely. Not long after that I quit most fruits, and only have fruit as an occasional treat now. Since the end of December, I have lost 40ish pounds (as of March 2011), and I am still losing. I decided a few weeks ago that I would train for a triathlon, and hope to compete in one before the end of the summer. I can't wait until I see what I look like in six months! This is so exciting! View all posts by therunningcavewoman

4 responses to “Updates…

Leave a comment